interactivity

On January 9th I began my first internship with the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s Team In Training Program. I decided that hand in hand with this internship I would participate in Team In Training as a runner. I will be running the Rock N Roll San Diego Marathon (Yes that is 26.2 miles!) in June 2013!! This internship has afforded me the opportunity to experience online interactive marketing first hand.

rock n roll sandiego marathon

Signing up for your first marathon with Team In Training you are not only signing up for months of training but also months of fundraising. Fundraising can be overwhelming if you do not use all your resources. The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society has realized the importance of personal online marketing interactivity, so much that they even provide you with a step by step plan to fundraise through the use of blogs, social networks, and emailing. By getting your donator network engaged and making the next couple months of your training and fundraising not only part of your life but how their contribution has affected their life as well.

In the days before the internet there was basic fundraising with letters, bake sales, etc. Letters can now be done through emailing. Yet still with emails you can still add a personal touch. Letters were not interactive and could easily be thrown in the trash. Some advantages of emails are that they save paper, money, and time. Bake sales can still occur without any face-to-face interaction, as I have seen on the website Carrotsncake.com. While fundraising for Team In Training, the creator of Carrotsncake.com tells how she conducted online raffles and a blog bake sale. There is no end to the creativity to turn traditional ways of fundraising into online interactivity. Blogs can be used to update your fundraising progress and what you have learned week to week. There are also ways on your blog to constantly bring onboard more interaction.

Another interactive marketing tool that is valuable is the use of Social Media. Social Media like Facebook and Twitter can be used to show your progress and help people feel involved in your fundraising goal. Telling everyone what you are doing with status updates and events that support you fundraising cause will keep people engaged and want to be a part of your journey of training.

By asking status’s like: “Have you ever done a marathon? I need some tips!” It allows your friends to tell their story.

Traditional fundraising has been thrown out the window. Using online interactive marketing tools allow a face-to-face experience that can grow on a massive scale. It has created a way that is more profitable yet even more effective.

Related Pages:
http://carrotsncake.com/2011/01/how-i-raised-money-for-tnt.html

2 responses to “interactivity

  1. This is a great Marketing Channel by raising awareness and doing something new and good to make people raise money for people in need. As you might notice now at days we are lucky to have social medias as you stated because it is a faster and more reacheable channel to make that goal.
    Hope to see more about the Leukemia and Lymphoma marathon

  2. Catherine I have to agree with you when you mention, “telling everyone what you are doing with status updates and events that support you fundraising cause will keep people engaged and want to be a part of your journey of training.” I love to keep people updated when I am engaged in something worth sharing. For example, when my 9 month old dog was just a puppy, I would post pictures of her as she grew and where I got her from. In the end of the day, I helped share my experience with people in my online network and as a result, other people got puppies as well. This is an example of “Social Marketing” as people tend to do or mimick a trend. In my case, I shared my puppy and the love I have for her online which made other people want to experience what I was experiencing too. Please check out my post: http://www.realtorjontorres.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

